My Own Opinion

image

The way that I see the world is this. It is a place where each person appears to have the freedom to their own opinion. Yet I hear stories about people being jailed for posting a picture on Facebook. Or others condemned for expressing their opinions on controversial issues.

There are times when I feel pressured to have an opinion that matches that of those around me. This verse from Romans 12:2 (Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will. (taken from the New International Version)) reminds me that I don’t need to do what everyone else does. I am free to have my own opinion even if it does not fit with what everyone else thinks. I can be free from the “jail” of peer pressure.

Before this post gets published, I should mention that opinions can do damage and I do not agree that opinions which would racially offend someone are appropriate. However, each person needs to make their decisions about their own opinions and why they believe that they are right.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

