Cameras

Cameras

Cameras would be one of the inventions which are on my (non-existent) “Favourite Inventions” list. They’ve been around for more than a century and have gradually become better (black and white to colour photography) and more accessible (phones, computers etc.).

I’ll confess that I do enjoy using a camera and I use it for a variety of things. I use it for work and also for leisure. I have photos documenting holidays and also the projects which I have worked on in the past.

I think that photography is a brilliant gift. I remember when you had to be careful with every shot you took and had to wait for photos to be developed (after the roll of film was used up which sometimes took months). In the age of digital photography, instantaneously we can check the dozens of photos we took in the last minute and decide which ones are worth keeping and which ones should be discarded forever. Which has made photography more cheaply available to everyone.

I believe that memories are precious and that whilst photos are great as you can look back on happier times using a photo to jog your memory, sometimes you can get caught up in taking the photo and forget to smell the flowers (or marvel at the sunset). I sometimes deliberately leave a camera at home so that I can just make memories without being distracted by taking photos of everything.

I’m not trying to be anti photos or anti cameras, but I (and unless I’m alone, others) need to remember that exciting and beautiful things are happening in front of the camera not just through the lens.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

