Why I Still Write

Writing

12 months I began a journey. I typed less than 200 words and published it for the world to see. Well that was the theory at least. I wanted to be a writer and apparently getting into the habit of writing is a good place to start. I thought the accountability of a blog to strangers would help keep me on track. Since then I have written 19000 words across more than 60 posts. It hasn’t always been easy trying to write every week and there are some weeks where I’ve missed deadlines. But eventually I’ve always finished the post.

It took me a year to get started, but a year on, I’m glad I did and that today I can celebrate my first birthday rather than regretting that I haven’t started blogging. I’m going to try blogging for another year, taking it one year at a time.

This blog has provided me with a way of sharing my thoughts where I can take the time to do that. It is the part of my week that I look forward to, the chance to simply sit and write, taking a break from the busyness of life.

If you’re reading this and considered blogging but never actually started, I’d recommend trying it and just taking it a week at a time. You’ll be surprised when you look back in a year and you’ve written more than you thought possible. I had my doubts about getting this far but I have to my surprise, simply because I just kept writing.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Still Write

  1. suziebeck5 says:

    Congratulations on your blogging birthday!! what a great effort to have blogged every week for a year. Well done honey xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

