Books

Books

One of my favourite things to do is to finish a good book. The ones with satisfying endings, where all the ends are tied up and I’m happy with the conclusion. As I’ve learnt more about writing and read more books, my list of favourite books has changed. I’ve discovered that books I once loved aren’t as good as I once thought and books that I once hated actually are worth rereading as I have changed and can appreciate them now.

I struggle to imagine a life without books as books are such a huge part of my life. I don’t read as much as I would like to but I love stepping into a whole new world. Not everyone shares my view of books. I know people who struggle to understand why I’d pick up a book for fun. But most days I can’t think of something I’d rather do than pick up a book and head off into a new world.

Books share ideals, shaping people’s ideas. Books are powerful and can change the world. Yet they are often dismissed. Stories have been told for millennia, although they weren’t always recorded in written form. They began as a way of explaining and remembering the past, but now there are entire genres devoted to the creation of fantastical worlds and the creation of alternate futures.

Books are written because their author has something to say. So whilst reading might simply be thought of as a way to pass the time, it’s worth thinking about what the author wants to say. Maybe you’ll agree with it or maybe you won’t or maybe you’ll sit somewhere in the middle. But it’s worth considering your thoughts when you finish a book. You might learn something new about the world or about yourself.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

