Seeing Even the Little Things

Bird.jpg

There are places I’ve been a thousand times but I have never really seen them. There are places I’ve been once that I’ve can see better than places I’ve been to many times.

I can’t always know everything but there are places I want to know. There are times when I close my eyes and think back to the house I grew up in and I can’t remember all of it. I lived there for over a decade, yet I don’t remember what my room was like. I spent all that time seeing the big things but not seeing the little things which made it up.

If you’ve read this far, why don’t you take a look at the place you’re sitting. Are there things you haven’t noticed before? Does the wooden table you are sitting at have an incredible pattern made up of different colours which you would just term ‘brown’?

You might think I have too much time on my hands given the amount of time I have to notice the little things of life. And whilst I have time, I don’t really have that much time to go around examining every thing I see, looking at the details, but when I do, I begin to see the world differently.

I particularly notice it in older buildings. There are all these little things, like ceilings which are incredibly intricate. It’s not just ‘let’s have a flat white ceiling’. It’s ‘let’s have a white ceiling but let’s put intricate moulding around the edges’ or ‘let’s paint a picture on the roof that completely covers it’. Very few people who enter a room will look at the roof unless they know something’s there, so all this work might never have been noticed yet they still put effort into doing it.

I’m always amazed when I discover new things and see what has been done even in the places where people rarely look. So I take time to look up, down and around and I’m always surprised by the new things I see.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

