Is It Okay To Be Old?

hands-and-flower

I’ve been thinking recently about what it means to be old. To some people I’m extremely old because I’m many times their age. Yet I still expect to have decades of my life in front of me, with more to go than I have lived. In many ways I’m considered young but there are still some days when I feel old.

A lot of the time in my society people are praised for looking young as though it’s the best thing. But in other societies the elderly are valued because of their life experience.

I don’t always want to be old but at the same time it’s a part of life. Age is just simply a sign of all thar we have experienced. I’ve made some choices I’ve regretted in the past as I’m sure everyone else has. But then I’ve learnt from them and tried to avoid doing the same thing again. And as I’ve got older I’ve discovered that there are times when I share what I have learnt so that others don’t make the same mistake.

I’m not going to hurry along to being old because that can only happen with time. But whilst I’m young, I’ll listen to people who are older and who’ve seen a bit more of the world than I have. It’s silly not to take the time to listen when doing so could avoid me making the same mistake as someone else.

Where I am at this point in my life, I’m mostly okay with being old. It’s a sign of my journey through life something which cannot be hurried along no matter what price you are willing to pay. I’ll enjoy being young whilst I can, but when I am no longer, I’ll remember that being young isn’t everything, it’s okay to be old because that means I’ve grown in knowledge and experience and can help you when you ask.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

