Giving Thanks For . . . Life

Beach.jpg

Today is Thanksgiving, a holiday for many people in the world. Last year I wrote a list of things that I was thankful for. I thought about doing that again, but it’s easy to come up with lists of things we are thankful for (maybe you can come up with your own once you’ve finished reading this), but I think it’s much harder just to narrow it down to one that you are most thankful for, but I’m going to try any way. This year what I’m most thankful for is that I get to live.

A lot of my posts this year have been me thinking about what it means to be uniquely me in this world or trying to grasp the bigger picture of life. I think that I will never be able to find an answer to these questions that will satisfy everyone so what I’m writing here on this blog is just for me not for anyone else. Perhaps some might like what I’m writing and agree with it or perhaps not, but this blog is just about me thinking about life.

Life is the thing I am most thankful for as I sit down to write, but now that I’ve thought about it more, perhaps it is the opportunities which I have been given throughout my life which I am so thankful for. Every breath I take, even though it is instinctive, is a miracle. That I have all of my limbs and I can use all of them is a gift. That I live in a country with a stable government and grew up in a family that loved me and cared for my physical, spiritual, mental and emotional needs is something I did not control.

For many 2016 has not turned out the way that they expected and that is definitely true for me. I’ve received many things which I did not expect and very few things I’d planned went according to plan. But would I go back and change the way this year has turned out? No, I don’t think I know enough to be in charge of what happens in the world and I’m so glad that I’m not. I don’t think I would plan a year with hardships but they make me grow so I’m thankful for them too.

Today on the day which began as a celebration of surviving the winter, I am thankful for life and all the opportunities and miracles both big and small that I experience as I travel through it.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

