Researching

magnifying-glass-and-book

Deep down I suppose I’m a little bit of a history nerd and a bit unusual, but I find the process of researching fascinating. It’s a little bit like going on a treasure hunt. Searching for clues which will point you in the right direction as you search for your treasure – knowledge. Sometimes this treasure is what you hoped to find. Other times it’s something completely different. But regardless of the outcome I love the process of researching.

Researching gives me an opportunity to learn. Whether it is something completely new or something related to my favourite subject. This is something I do for pleasure, not just for work. I guess I love being challenged and researching means I have the challenge not only of learning but also the challenge of searching for that information.

I’ve been spending a little time recently getting back in to World War I, researching the lives of people who aren’t talked about as much, and I’m constantly being amazed by what people have done,  how little I know and how much there is to learn.

Researching fascinates me because of the enormous opportunities there are once you begin. I love thinking about the past, places and people and discovering how different our lives were,  but also how much remains the same today.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

