Motivation

street.jpg

Some people can work without a clearly defined goal in their minds. I don’t think I’m one of those. I need some form of motivation, whether it is a task I am trying to achieve or a bigger goal I am working towards. This is great when I know what I need to do and why I’m doing it, but when I don’t know what the purpose is behind a task I get a bit stuck.

Why do I need to feel like there is a reason behind what I am doing? Well I think it is because I don’t like wasting time. I don’t like doing jobs which I don’t think serve a purpose or which I can’t see immediate effects from. (I think this explains why there is an eclectic range of things I like because I can see immediate effects in a whole range of tasks so I enjoy them.) I might use my time in a way some may consider wasteful, so I’ll consider what people say and maybe I’ll change what I do or perhaps we’re just different and what is a waste of time for you isn’t a waste of time for me.

So what do I do when I have a task that I have to complete, but I just don’t see why I should do it? Over the past few months I’ve been trying to build a sense of achievement around the tasks which I have to complete but just don’t want to. What’s been working for me is creating to-do lists with the time I expect it will take to complete the task. Once I’ve achieved the goal (it might be a small goal like writing a paragraph or it might be a larger one like finishing the essay), I get the satisfaction of crossing it off.

So how about you. Do you need motivation to complete tasks or can you just work even when you’re unmotivated? If you need motivation what are some ways  you build it when it’s not given to you?

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

