The News and People

newspapers.jpg

In a world where information is at our fingertips and the information which we can find is constantly filtered so that it is relevant to us, there occurs a paradox. There is so much we could potentially learn but we can’t always find it.

I think that it is an incredible privelege to be able to access what the media reports on various issues, especially when the media is free to report on issues they way they see them and are not forced to present a certain view on the issue. But all the work which goes in to creating these reports whether in print or digital, visual or written media serves very little purpose if it does not challenge what people think and makes them do something to make the world a better place. Of course there are always so many conflicting ideas out there that it can be quite hard to figure out what to do with all that you hear. In fact if we everyone listened to both sides of arguments and then did what both sides said, the world wouldn’t change. But when people receive priveleges they shouldn’t just let them sit in a corner gathering dust, they should do something with them. There is a role which journalists must play in providing information, whether it agrees with popular opinion or not, but once it has left them, the responsibility falls to its audience to do something with it.

I will be the first to admit that once I have made up my mind on an issue, I look for news which I agree with. There is a part of me which wants to learn new ways of thinking but there is another part of me which at the same time which is content with the way I view the world because I’m happy with it. I just have to be conscious of this and take the time to look at different opinions because I’m not always right and neither is my society.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

