My Blogging Journey

It’s that time of year again. A time of year where I get to celebrate having reached another milestone, even if most of my friends don’t know about it. In celebration of my blog’s 2nd Birthday, I thought I’d share a little bit of my blogging journey with you all.

I started regularly writing this blog two years ago but the process really began three years ago, if not longer. I had been wanting to get more serious about writing and over the years one thing which different people kept saying was that to be a writer you actually have to set aside regular time to write. The easiest way I thought of holding myself accountable to this goal was to create a blog and say I would be posting at certain times. True, I haven’t always kept the deadlines, but I’ve always done my best to stick close to them. It’s at the end of each year that I compile some statistics on my blog and I’m always amazed at what I’ve managed to do. Last year I wrote about 19,000 words and this year I’ve sent more than 20, 000 words out into the world.

I created the site about a year before I actually started writing and over that year I came up with some ideas for blog posts (some of which waited another year to actually be written). Eventually a year after I first decided to start blogging, I realised that I really needed to start this, I didn’t really have an excuse not to, and so I hit publish on my first post on June 4th 2015. It hasn’t always been easy writing about my thoughts but it has been something which I’ve looked forward to every week, the chance to just sit and write.

So thank you to all those who have read, liked, commented and subscribed. It’s nice to know that people care about my writing as I’ve been on this journey over the past two years. As I said last year I’m going to try  another year of blogging and see where it takes me, perhaps one day I’ll no longer have the time for it, but whilst I do, I want to enjoy it.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

