Fence Sitting

fence-sitting.jpeg

Some days I have opinions that I will refuse to back down from. But there are other days when I find that I don’t really seem to have a hard and fast opinion on various issues and I find myself sitting on a metaphorical fence. There isn’t necessarily a reason for why I do or don’t have an opinion on an issue, but I do want to think about some of the reasons why this might be the case, at least for me even if not for you.

Why do I sit on a fence? I think it’s because generally speaking I like to hear both sides of the argument before I pick my side. I don’t want to make decisions until I hear the reasons behind what each side is arguing and why it is the better choice. I find it easy to understand both sides of an argument because I can usually get where both parties are coming from. So I get stuck in the middle because I see two perfectly reasonable arguments leading to conflicting conclusions which I can’t always choose between.

Even though it can take me a while to form opinions, carefully listening to both sides of the argument and at times fluctuating between sides before I settle on an opinion,  once I have formed my opinions it can be hard for me to change them. Of course some will change more easily (like my favourite book) but most are fairly permanent.

Whilst I think it’s important that we have opinions on issues and that we know why we have them, I still think the ability to ‘sit on a fence’ is a useful one. But regardless of whether you have a steadfast opinion or not, you should still take the time to listen to other people and whatever they have to say even if you don’t agree with their opinion.

About Thought Student

A lover of learning who blogs about history, life and opinions at thoughtstudent.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Thursday's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

